Art

Includes letters, photographs, oral histories, sketches, scrapbooks, and other documents surrounding the United States' contributions to the visual arts.

Explore museums from around the world, discover and view hundreds of artwork at incredible zoom levels, and even create and share your own collection of masterpieces.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City presents a comprehensive and image-rich timeline of world artistic achievement from 20,000 BCE through the present.

The Victoria and Albert Museum in London houses an eclectic collection of art and everyday objects from all eras and from all around the globe. This site includes detailed descriptions (with images) of hundreds of objects held at the museum, interviews with artists, theoretical discussions, and templates for creating one's own art project.

A portal for art history resources include art history departments, museums, online collections, and research.

Located in Washington, DC, the National Gallery of Art collection spans a large swath of European and American art and includes drawings, paintings, photographs, prints, and sculptures from the 18th century to present-day.

The National Gallery of Art – the nation's museum – preserves, collects, exhibits, and fosters an understanding of works of art. Currently, in partnership with Google, the online experience features two digital exhibits. The first is an exhibit of American fashion from 1740 to 1895, including many renderings of clothes from the colonial and Revolutionary eras. The second is a collection of works from Dutch Baroque painter Johannes Vermeer.

Anyone who is a fan of this tragic, ingenious painter can see his works up close (or, almost up close) by virtually visiting this museum – the largest collection of artworks by Vincent van Gogh, including over 200 paintings, 500 drawings, and over 750 personal letters.

Google Arts & Culture teamed up with over 2500 museums and galleries around the world to bring anyone and everyone virtual tours and online exhibits of some of the most famous museums around the world. The collection includes the British Museum in London, the Guggenheim in New York City, and literally hundreds more for art, history and science.